THE HEAP

: (igen, för att han är en av mina absoluta favoriter): Have you heard of the ‘paradox of the heap’? It’s an oldie but it goes like this:

if you have a heap of sand and remove one grain at a time, there is no single grain that separates a heap from a non-heap. If the process is continued, is a single remaining grain of sand still a heap? If you put teaspoons of dirt on a hill, no single teaspoon is going to turn it into a mountain.
.
And yet, we have heaps and mountains. And we have single grains of sand. And those things are not the same.


.
Our brains are unique because we are excellent at pattern recognition. And life is short, so the brain lumps similar patterns into categories that we call ‘labels’. All that sand? That’s a heap. It does this so it won’t be paralyzed by minute analysis. This helped us tremendously one hundred thousand years ago when we were grouping: safe, dangerous, mate, nonmate. The world is a little more complex now.
.
The paradox of the heap helps calm me down with all the fever around labeling. Are you outraged enough for the modern days of the Internet? Man enough? Woman enough? Straight enough? Gay enough? Inclusive enough? Mad enough? Progressive enough? Conservative enough?

..
We are watching social evolution crawl out of the mud before our eyes. And nature is clear about this: evolution is messy.

Jag läser denna text ur flera olika perspektiv samtidigt. Den handlar om att ingen kan göra allt, men att allt som alla gör spelar roll. Om att vi kan, men ändå inte kan, beskriva varandra genom generaliseringar och beskrivningar. Även om dessa är sanna, så är orden så begränsade att de inte kan fånga en persons essens. Om att vi kan, men ändå inte kan, leva upp till de beskrivningar vi eller andra identifierar oss med. Om tillräckligt. Och om att evolution is messy.

Allt detta kämpar inom mig. Vad jag är och vad jag vill vara. Vad jag kan vara. Vad jag är – ett sandkorn i sandhögen. En del av sandhögen. Eller är jag sandhögen? Vad är sandhögen utan mig? Vad är jag utan den?

Hur utvecklas jag och hur utvecklas världen? Och hur mycket har dessa båda att göra med varandra?

Kommentera

